From left: Rod Painell, Laura Pambos and baby Sunny, Emma Jones, Sarah Gulliford, Louise Hilton and Dave Tickner

Alton Climate Action Network is delighted to announce the appointment of a new Chair, Treasurer, Secretary and three other Trustees to lead the next phase of environmental action in the town.  At an extraordinary general meeting of the charity on 30 May, Sarah Gulliford was appointed as Chair; Laura Pambos as Treasurer; Louise Hilton as Secretary, and Rod Painell and David Tickner as other Trustees.  Angus Berry was unable to be present but will be appointed as a new Trustee at the next Trustees’ meeting.  Emma Jones, the leader of Young ACAN, continues as a Trustee. 

Sarah Gulliford said: “Having been involved with ACAN since its first open meeting 5 years ago, I have been very impressed with the achievements of the ACAN team and the constituent groups over this time. The current Trustees have done a wonderful job to date and it is an honour to be able to step in and help drive the next phase of ACAN along with our enthusiastic team of volunteers and new Trustees. If anyone would like to get involved or stay informed with what we are doing please do get in touch via the website or social media.”

Jenny Griffiths, founding Chair of ACAN said, “Since ACAN’s launch five years ago, it has developed into a powerful community network. I am delighted and very grateful that a new group of Trustees have come forward to create the next chapter of local environmental action.  They have energy, new ideas and a fresh approach.  Their appointment also secures the future of the groups in the ACAN network directly supported by the charity – the Alton Repair Café, the Alton Community Share, Young ACAN, our nature group AVLAN, Cycle Alton, the Gumbi Alton Permaculture Project, and the ACAN lobbying group.  My colleague former core group members Eleanor Hill, Phinna Brealey and I are so grateful to all their leaders and volunteers; and also to the many volunteers who have stepped up recently to undertake a range of administrative tasks.”

(Eleanor Hill and Phinna Brealey are standing down as Trustees; Jenny Griffiths will stay on as a Trustee until December 2024.)

Responsive Menu
Add more content here...